Total: $0.00
0 Item
  Search for

GSP Editions and Recordings > GSP Artists

(Madrid, Spain, 1891 - Madrid, Spain, 1982)

Federico Moreno Torroba had the distinction of being the first composer to heed Andrés Segovia's request for new guitar music from prominent contemporary composers.

Moreno Torroba's first music teacher was his father, the organist José Lopez Ballesteros. His musical talent was obvious at an early age, and he entered the National Conservatory of Music where he studied extensively with Conrado del Campo, a celebrated musical pedagogue of that period.

Moreno Torroba's compositions are regarded by some critics as milestones in Spanish music in the three creative media into which he chose to direct his talents: the orchestra, the guitar and the zarzuela (the traditional form of Spanish comic opera). The National Orchestra of Madrid has successfully and repeatedly presented such symphonic works of Moreno Torroba's as Capriccio Romantico and the Cuadros Castellanos.

Federico Moreno Torroba wrote many important works for the guitar after meeting Andrés Segovia in the 1920s. They include his Piezas Caracteristicas in two volumes, Sonatina in A Major, Burgalesa in F Sharp, and the Castles of Spain suite. In 1974 Moreno Torroba wrote Dialogos for guitar and orchestra, dedicated to Andrés Segovia, and in 1976 he wrote Concerto Iberica for four guitars and orchestra, dedicated to the Romero Quartet. Moreno Torroba also wrote Concierto en Flamenco for flamenco guitar and orchestra, which was dedicated to and played by Sabicas with the Concert Orchestra of Madrid. These compositions firmly established Moreno Torroba as one of the finest composers for the guitar of the twentieth century.

[this text is taken from The Classical Guitar - Its Evolution, Players and Personalities since 1800 by Maurice J. Summerfield - Ashley Mark Publishing Company, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom]

All content © 2018 GSP
-- Site developed by Nisarga Design